sweets mat

A belated birthday present currently snail-mailing it up north:

I was inspired by this sweet mat from Linen, Wool, Cotton.

I switched it up a little with some printed fabric, ric-rac (which I haven’t used much) and embroidered x’s (because for the life of me I can’t make an embroidered french knot look good).

I also rounded the corners which sparked a slightly epic battle between me and the ric-rac on that first curve (it would just not stay put). But I’m happy to report it turned out well in the end.

I’m definitely going to make a few more of these as Christmas presents. Cute, simple and easy to make. Judging on how I’m currently progressing (or not progressing) on my holiday to-do list, I’m really going to need some more of these quick projects.

One thought on “sweets mat

Leave a Reply

